Reviews 

We had such a great week, the villa was very well equipped and the pool was perfect in the 30 + degree temperatures. Tim the owner was so helpful in answering our questions. We found the villa so private ,great views and yet within a short drive you are close to so many things the Dordogne is well known for. From pretty medieval towns to kayaking down the river, visiting stunning gardens to exploring a chateau. We were just left wanting more, 5 stars for a holiday we would all happily repeat.

Aldridges from Essex

August 2020

Really nice gite in the heart of the Dordogne excellently located for touristy stuff. Hot air balloons soaring overhead as you laze by the pool with the silence only broken by the crickets (and a once a day military jet flying low over - more exciting than inconvenient !). The gite is very well equipped with good quality kitchen items, smart satellite UK TV, and surprisingly good stable wifi. Its down a little lane which ensures peace and quiet but it makes for a 5 or 6 mile drive down the windy road to the boulangerie and other amenties. The downstairs double bedroom + twin room + bathroom arrangement is mirrored upstairs meaning 8 people are easily accommodated. The gite is very homely and everything worked fine. I have no hesitation in recommending Chene Bois to others.

Paddy E

September 2019

We have had a fabulous week at Chene Bois. The house is spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. A real home from home. The pool is superbly clean with the 8 sun loungers making it an ideal place to relax and cool down. Most of our evening meals were outside on the patio under a gazebo with comfortable seating for 8. The bbq was also put to good use on more than one occasion. The surrounding area is stunning and offers chateaux visits, beautiful villages and canoeing on the river. A visit to Sarlat market is also a must. Will definitely be back.

Peter F

August 2019

We stayed at Chene Bois between 24th August and 31st August 2019. The journey down from Calais is actually very pleasant and straight forward and the directions provided were spot on in terms of finding the property. The property is situated away from the road and has the most fantastic views of the local area. Our first impressions were how fantastically laid out the property is with ample parking, a swimming pool that is gated off for safety and enough space for 8 people. The swimming pool was maintained to a top level and the pool cover kept it at a nice warm temperature. The house was clean and 99% of what you could possibly need for a stay away was supplied including washing materials, kitchen supplies and even towels etc which is not usually supplied. The local villages and towns had a lot to offer and everything is very reasonably priced depending on what you want to do. The locals are friendly and there is enough choice in terms of whether you want a relaxing holiday or even something a bit more adventurous. I cannot recommend highly enough Chene Bois and will most definitely return for another holiday.

Adam B

August 2019

We had a lovely stay at Chene Bois. The house is really comfortable with everything you could possibly need and is situated next to some wonderful tourist attractions. We visited the castles at Castelnau and Beynac, the picturesque, medieval towns of Sarlat and Domme and had a great day canoeing on the Dordogne. Everything no more than a twenty minute drive away from the house. We also spent some lazy afternoons relaxing by the superb swimming pool and in the garden, with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. A real home from home!

Karl N

July 2019

We spent an amazing 2 weeks at Chene Bois and we're extremely happy with the villa. It had everything we could have needed for our stay. The villa was exactly as described in the advert and was even more stunning than the pictures showed. The outdoor seating under the gazebo had a stunning view over the valley, very peaceful in the mornings to sit with a cup of tea and relax! The pool was used everyday and when the cover is left on was quite warm to get into. Fans were provided in every room and came in very handy as the temperature was usually around 30 degrees. The garden area around the pool gave the kids lots of space to play football and badminton and just run around having fun exploring. The local town has an amazing bakery that sells the most beautiful cakes, and has a little bar, shop and butchers also, which was great to get little bits from without having to travel to the supermarket. The canoeing along the river Dordogne is a must and the route from vitrac to Beynac has some stunning towns and views along the way. We also saw lots of hot air balloons flying over the villa and even had some fighter jets zoom past which the kids were amazed at! The town of Domme is a lovely day out to walk around the town and visit the caves and is only half an hour drive away. La-Roque-Gageac has some lovely shops and restaurants where you can walk along the Dordogne River. We will definitely be visiting again and thanks for an amazing holiday that we will never forget!

Rachel K

August 2018

We had a fantastic time at Chene Bois. The house was big, bright and comfortable, and the pool was superb - we used it every day. The location was ideal, with some of the best sights in the Dordogne all within easy reach. There is no harsher critic than our teenage daughter - and she declared it "the perfect holiday".

Karl N

August 2018

Chene Bois is a beautiful well equipped gite in the heart of the Dordogne with wonderful views across the valley from the patio. It is a haven of peace and tranquility where the only sounds to be heard are bird song and crickets. We were also lucky to see a deer by the pool at dusk one evening. There is no light pollution so masses of stars can be seen in the night sky. The gite is ideally situated for visiting the major sites in the area with Domme, Beynac, Castelnaud, Marqueyssac, Milland and Sarlat all close by. During our stay temperatures reached more than 30 degrees so we took full advantage of the lovely well maintained pool. Two weeks just not long enough. Thank you for making our holiday truly memorable.

Lesley and family

June 2018

We stayed in the house with friends and 2 little children. Everything was provided. Adequate towels, clean linens, cleaning products, a dining chair for our daughter, a travel cot, more than in the description. The pool was pleasantly warm and well maintained. But the great asset of this house is its location. Particularly quiet, and near some of the most beautiful villages of France! The communication with the owners was particularly smooth! We had a successful vacation! Fam. Van Nieuwenhuyse"

Steven & Lieve Van Nieuwenhuyse

July 2017